Wrestling Talk Forums supported
USA Wrestling-Kansas KWCA Wrestling Talk Forums supported & maintained by USA Wrestling-Kansas USAW USA Wrestling-Kansas 
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Round Robin Rules #16992 02/22/06 09:23 PM
Joined: Feb 2006
Posts: 5
G
Grandpa P Offline OP
Junior Member
OP Offline
Junior Member
G
Joined: Feb 2006
Posts: 5
Can anyone explain how second place is determined when there is a 3 way tie for first place in a round robin? I don't have access to a rule book, but I have found this modification to NFSHSA Rule 10-3-6 on this site under Rules/KansasKids'Constitution/SectionIII/PartA.3.
Rule 10-3-6
In the event of a tie in a round robin, the winner will be determined based on head-to-head competition. If head-to-head competition cannot determine the winner, the winner will be determined by total points earned:

Fall, forfeit, default or disqualification 4
Technical fall 3
Major decision (8 to 14 pts) 2
Decision (0 to 7 pts) 1

If the winner still cannot be determined, the total bracket will be wrestled again.

This rule only specifies how to determine "the winner". In a recent 3 man round robin match there was a 3 way tie. I was told to determine the winner "first we look at pins, then the remaining wrestlers go head to head". There was one pin and both remaining wrestlers won by decision. According to the above the wrestler with the pin earned 4 points and the other two wrestlers earned 1 point, and are tied for second. What to do now? The above rule doesn't say. Go head to head again? They have already gone head to head once and it resulted in a tie. If one wrestler wins a major decision is he awarded second? This rule doesn't say that either. I'd like to point out here that in the above situation; 3 wrestlers, 3 way tie, 1 pin, 2 decisions, if you go head to head a second time, the wrestler that gets pinned will always take second place. This has to be or there would not be a 3 way tie. It seams we are rewarding a wrestler for getting pinned.
Are there any other rules covering this situation?

Re: Round Robin Rules #16993 02/22/06 09:57 PM
Joined: Dec 2004
Posts: 180
P
Packerholic4 Offline
Member
Offline
Member
P
Joined: Dec 2004
Posts: 180
There is no tie for second. The point system and the head-to-head matches take care of the problem. Look at this example.

You have wrestler A, B, and C.

Match #1 - wrestler A pins wrestler B
Match #2 - wrestler B wins by dec. over C
Match #3 - Wrestler C wins by dec. over A

Breakdown Wrestler A takes 1st because he has the pin and 4 points from point system.

Wrestler B takes 2nd because he beat wrestler C head to head even though wrestler B and C have one point each.

1st place- Wrestler A
2nd place- Wrestler B
3rd place- Wrestler C

It kind of sucks, But that's the way it is. I've seen it twice with 2 wrestlers in a 5 round robin. Our wrestlers were in a 3 way tie and ended up 3rd place and they beat the wrestler that took 1st and lost head to head to the wrestler that took 2nd.

Re: Round Robin Rules #16994 02/22/06 10:31 PM
Joined: Feb 2006
Posts: 5
G
Grandpa P Offline OP
Junior Member
OP Offline
Junior Member
G
Joined: Feb 2006
Posts: 5
Packerholic4, Your example illustrates my point, the wrestler that gets pinned will always get second place. And where is the rule that says to add up points first then go head to head with the remaining wrestlers to award second? According to the Rule you go head to head first then add up points.
All anyone can tell me is like you said "It kind of sucks, But that's the way it is". But where is the rule that says that's the way it is?

Re: Round Robin Rules #16995 02/23/06 12:31 AM
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 76
Michael Rockhold Sr. Offline
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 76
Rule 10-3-6
In the event of a tie in a round robin, the winner will be determined based on head-to-head competition. If head-to-head competition cannot determine the winner, the winner will be determined by total points earned:


Fall, forfeit, default or disqualification
4


Technical fall
3


Major decision (8 to 14 pts)
2


Decision (0 to 7 pts)
1


If the winner still cannot be determined, the total bracket will be wrestled again.

Re: Round Robin Rules #16996 02/23/06 01:24 AM
Joined: Feb 2006
Posts: 5
G
Grandpa P Offline OP
Junior Member
OP Offline
Junior Member
G
Joined: Feb 2006
Posts: 5
Dear Mr. Rockhold, please read my entire original post. AS I already have this rule included and I am asking questions about it. More questions: Are the pts behind Major decision and Decision, total points or point spread?

Re: Round Robin Rules #16997 02/23/06 01:35 AM
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 76
Michael Rockhold Sr. Offline
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 76
point spread. The kids rule that I posted is self-explanatory. If the winner still cannot be determined, the total bracket will b e wrestled again.

Re: Round Robin Rules #16998 02/23/06 04:34 AM
Joined: Feb 2006
Posts: 5
G
Grandpa P Offline OP
Junior Member
OP Offline
Junior Member
G
Joined: Feb 2006
Posts: 5
Thanks for answering all my questions Mr. Rockhold. If this rule is self-explanatory, I wouldn't have to be asking questions about it. I think I have raised some legitiment questions in my original post. Anyone else have input on what the rule actually says and not on what you think it should say?

Re: Round Robin Rules #16999 02/23/06 04:44 AM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 132
Mark Stanley Offline
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 132
Grandpa,

If one wrestler, through the scoring criteria posted, has a higher point total he is deemed the winner. When a "winner" is determined, you are by definition down to a two way tie. A two way tie can "always" be broken by a head-to-head comparison. The scoring criteria called out is not intended to be used to place the wrestlers 1,2,3...it is intended to be used only to "break the tie".

Only if you are still left with a three way tie when utilizing the scoring criteria will the entire bracket need to wrestled again.

Re: Round Robin Rules #17000 02/23/06 01:08 PM
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 76
Michael Rockhold Sr. Offline
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 76
Thanks Mark. I thought it was self-explanatory. I guess I should have turned the words around like you did to explain it.

Re: Round Robin Rules #17001 02/23/06 07:07 PM
Joined: Feb 2006
Posts: 5
G
Grandpa P Offline OP
Junior Member
OP Offline
Junior Member
G
Joined: Feb 2006
Posts: 5
Mark, thank you for your comments. If I'm understanding this correctly then, if one wrestler earns 4 pts for a pin, one earns 2 pts for a major decision and one earns 1 pt for a decision, the wrestler with 2 pts does not necessarily get second place, you still go head to head with the remaining wrestlers to determine the second place. Correct?
One final question. If there is a 3 way tie for second or third place,etc. and a winner can not be determined, is the entire bracket wrestled again? Have you ever known this to happen?

Re: Round Robin Rules #17002 02/23/06 07:49 PM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 132
Mark Stanley Offline
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 132
Correct, that is how I have seen the tie-breaker rule implemented.

I can’t honestly tell you that I have ever seen the three way tie for 2nd not broken by the scoring criteria…but I suppose there is a scenario in which it could happen. If I was put on the spot to interpret the rule in this situation, I would draw a 3-man bracket and wrestle it off for 2, 3, and 4th. The clear-cut 1st place winner of the original 4-man bracket would be awarded 1st. I am not sure if everyone would see it my way though. …I am also curious how others interpret this one.

Re: Round Robin Rules #17003 03/01/06 07:49 PM
Joined: Mar 2005
Posts: 234
2
2coach Offline
Member
Offline
Member
2
Joined: Mar 2005
Posts: 234
my son was in a three way tie for 1st. there were four in the bracket. A.being my son,B,C,@D.. A beat C,lost to B in double overtime and pinned D. B of course beat A, Lost to C in overtime, and pinned D. C lost to A, And of course beat B, and pinned D. The way that they gave 1st place was to who ever had the first take down in every match. 1st was given to A,2nd B,3rd was C. was this the wrong way to do it??


Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 118 guests, and 2 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Newest Members
bvswwrestling, CoachFitzOS, Dluce, Shawn Russell, CorbinPickerill
12302 Registered Users
Forum Statistics
Forums10
Topics36,054
Posts250,658
Members12,302
Most Online1,305
Mar 13th, 2025
Top Posters(All Time)
usawks1 8,595
smokeycabin 6,248
Aaron Sweazy 5,259
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.2
(Release build 20190702)
PHP: 7.2.34 Page Time: 0.026s Queries: 14 (0.003s) Memory: 0.8020 MB (Peak: 0.9683 MB) Data Comp: Off Server Time: 2025-04-05 22:39:35 UTC
Valid HTML 5 and Valid CSS