Annon-Spillman
#28823
03/05/03 11:07 PM
|
Anonymous
Unregistered
|
Anonymous
Unregistered
|
I was just curious what actual illegal hold was called to end the match in overtime. I never saw a figure four, which would be illegal. What I did see was what looks like a draping head scissors (legal) which you can find on page 69 of the federation rules book. Not here to start WW3, but I am curious to know what was specifically called.
|
|
|
Re: Annon-Spillman
#28824
03/06/03 12:27 AM
|
Joined: Mar 2005
Posts: 7
G Spot
Junior Member
|
Junior Member
Joined: Mar 2005
Posts: 7 |
I am pretty sure he scissored the head, but I am not for sure...had he not given up the penalty point, there is a good chance he would have been taken down in the next few seconds.
|
|
|
Re: Annon-Spillman
#28825
03/06/03 12:44 AM
|
Anonymous
Unregistered
|
Anonymous
Unregistered
|
Your right about him having a good chance for the takedown following...but had that decision been overturned they would have started back up in the nuetral position.
|
|
|
Re: Annon-Spillman
#28826
03/06/03 11:49 PM
|
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 70
Mike Sample
Member
|
Member
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 70 |
I thought when it happened live that it was a legal hold. But then I blew it off because Baker didn't argue. After seeing the replay on TV, it still looks like a legal hold (assuming it was the scissors that they called). I may be a little biased, but the point at which they stopped the match is identical to the picture in the rulebook that Kyle_Dub referenced.
|
|
|
Re: Annon-Spillman
#28827
03/07/03 12:06 AM
|
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 11
EJ 145
Junior Member
|
Junior Member
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 11 |
whatever that call was it did not seem near as strange as the two stallings calls that sent the match into overtime. No matter how it turned out it was a great match between two great wrestlers. Congrats to both wrestlers.
|
|
|
Re: Annon-Spillman
#28828
03/07/03 03:12 AM
|
Anonymous
Unregistered
|
Anonymous
Unregistered
|
Yeah, annon would have definitely finished the takedown very quickly if not for the illegal hold. That wouldn't be fair if the refs stopped the match for a questionable hold and then said it was legal and cost annon a takedown, though. Annon destroys Spillmann on his feet. In their 4 matches, I'm pretty sure Spillman did not have an offensive takedown (shot, duck, or throw).
|
|
|
Re: Annon-Spillman
#28829
03/07/03 04:43 PM
|
Anonymous
Unregistered
|
Anonymous
Unregistered
|
HOXIE87: The use of the legs on the head to which you are referring is now a technical violation if applied while in the neutral position.
|
|
|
Re: Annon-Spillman
#28830
03/07/03 05:05 PM
|
Anonymous
Unregistered
|
Anonymous
Unregistered
|
James~ You did awesome, some of them are just mad lol.. but ya your the man! Nice work! 
|
|
|
Re: Annon-Spillman
#28831
03/08/03 02:41 AM
|
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 70
Mike Sample
Member
|
Member
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 70 |
Egg: Where are you getting your information from? All I have to go by is the 2002-2003 rules book. Maybe there has been an update, or maybe I missed something.
Don't get me wrong. I'm not taking anything away from Annon. He had a great year. I just want to know what the call was. If the referee (Phil Martin?) sees this, maybe he could reply.
I still contend that it was not a "straight" leg scissors. And if it was a "draping" head scissors, the 2003 rules book says this hold is legal. Again, I just want to know what the call was. It was a great match.
|
|
|
Re: Annon-Spillman
#28832
03/09/03 03:03 AM
|
Anonymous
Unregistered
|
Anonymous
Unregistered
|
Hoxie87,
While at a JH wrestling matchon Thursday I borrowed the official's rule book and looked it up; now I wish I would have remembered (tough to do at my age) or written down the page number!
It is not the hold, per se, that is illegal but iits use while in the neutral position.
It was a great match!
|
|
|
|
0 registered members (),
100
guests, and 3
spiders. |
Key:
Admin,
Global Mod,
Mod
|
|
Forums10
Topics36,054
Posts250,658
Members12,302
|
Most Online1,305 Mar 13th, 2025
|
|
|