With the way the rules are set up, I understand that a wrestler can only wrestle one weight class above their certified weight without breaking certification. The rules also state that a wrestler can wrestle no more than one weight above their competition weigh-in.

So, having said that, what if a wrestler weighs in at a weight above their certified weight and, for whatever reason, wants to wrestle a weight above their competition weigh-in? For example, say a wrestler certified at 135, and weighs in that day at 138. According to the rules, they could wrestle at 140 or 145, but they would break certification if they went 145.

My question is, why shouldn't the wrestler in the example be allowed to wrestle at 145 without breaking certification as long as they weighed in within one weight class of their certified weight?

Please note that I realize a wrestler should be at a weight that they are able to maintain, and I am not promoting that they should bounce around. I just think that on some occaisions it would be beneficial for them to move up a weight, especially with smaller programs that need to fill out a roster temporarily.

Really, I'm just trying to find something interesting to talk about and see what everyone else thinks about it.